SITUATIONS

6 Submitted by on Tue, 06 January 2015, 10:55

Here is an opportunity to ask your fellow umpires how to handle a situation or the old, “what would you have done” question. At some point during our season, some of us are involved in an unusual situation. Please share it with the rest of us or ask a question about any situation that you may or may not have encountered.

PICK-OFF PLAY….Dennis has asked that this video be posted for everyone to view. He has been told that coaches are teaching their pitchers this move. DO NOT call a BALK. This is a legal move according to Rule 9.1. If you want to review the video without refreshing the page, hit the rewind button in the lower left part of the screen. (small circle with arrow)

Written by

6 Responses to "SITUATIONS"
  1. Robert Brown says:

    This would be a good spot to discuss test questions when they are available.

    • Mike Applegate says:

      In order to record any outs on the play the umpire needs to judge the act by R3 as intentional since he appears to be in contact with the bag. If so ruled, R3 and BR are out with less than 2 outs and BR out with 2 outs. If not intentional we have a live fair ball.

  2. Matt Beaver says:

    Top of 3rd inning. No score. Runner on 1st, two out. Left-handed pitcher. Runner gets picked off. 1st baseman throws to the shortstop and the runner is in a classic rundown (pickle). While the shortstop has the ball and is chasing the runner back toward 1st base, the shortstop airmails the 1st baseman and the ball goes out of play. The runner starts to walk toward 2nd base. About 30 feet from the 2nd base bag, he abruptly turns left and cuts across the infield toward third base. Then he reaches and touches third base. What if:
    A) …once the ball is put back in play by the plate man, the pitcher, either from the rubber or not, throws to the shortstop or second baseman and appeals the runner not touching second base on his way to third? B) …after the runner touches third base, someone from his bench yells at him to go back and touch third base, at which point the exact same scenario from A occurs? C) …just prior to touching third base, someone screams at the runner to go back and touch third base, which he does, and then trots back to and touches third base, at which point the exact same scenario from A occurs? D) …once the ball is put back in play by the plateman, the pitcher balks and the runner, now on third base, scores, and then the ball is put back in play, and the pitcher then initiates an appeal? E) …while the runner is walking and on his way to third base, the pitcher, having never returned to the rubber, throws the ball to the shortstop, who then steps on second base in an obvious act of appeal? F) …while the runner is walking and on his way to third base, the pitcher, having never returned to the rubber, throws the ball to the shortstop, who then tags the runner, appealing that he did not touch second base? G) …once the ball is put back in play by the plateman, the pitcher then steps off the rubber and is about to throw to the shortstop to appeal, but before he does, the runner suddenly takes off toward home in an attempt to score, and the pitcher throws to the catcher, whose attempt to tag the runner is late, the run scores, and THEN after all of that, the pitcher throws to the shortstop, who appeals the runner missing second base on his way to third base while the ball was dead? H) …after the ball is put back in play by the plateman, the pitcher delivers the first pitch to the batter, after which the pitcher, having received the return throw from the catcher, throws to the shortstop, who touches second, appealing that the runner, currently standing on third base, failed to touch second base on his way to third while the ball was dead? I) …the game resumes, with no appeal whatsoever at any time, at which point the offense scores a total of six runs, all with two out, the inning ends, at which point the home team manager approaches you before the start of the bottom of the 3rd, and asks you, “Hey, if we had appealed that guy for not touching second base after we screwed up that rundown, would he have been out?”

leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.